Elizabeth - Elizabeth (1968)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 1:54 AM

Elizabeth was made up of Steve Weingart (lead guitar, harp, organ, vocals), Bob Patterson (guitar, vocals), Jim Dahme (guitar, flute, vocals), Steve Bruno (organ, bass), and Hank Ransome (drums). The band originally came from Philadelphia but moved to New York in 1968, where they recorded and released their self-titled album on Vanguard Records in 1969. The album was released with a wonderful psychedelic-styled collage sleeve that gave the record buyer an impression that the band was a baroque-styled act, yet in actuality it is fairly standard late-'60s rock. The highlights of the album are the fuzz guitar-laden track "You Should Be More Careful," the haunting soft psych of the song "Alarm Rings Five," and the final and best track on the album, "When All Else Fails." The album is rounded out by a few less than interesting good-time-styled rock tracks and has a slight jazz feel in places.
1. Not That Kind Of Guy
2. Mary Anne
3. Dissimilitude
4. Similitude
5. You Should Be More Careful
6. The World's For Free
7. Fields Of Home
8. Alarm Rings Five
9. Lady L
10. When All Else Fails

0 Response to 'Elizabeth - Elizabeth (1968)'

Post a Comment

Blog Archive