Stevie Wonder - Innervisions (1973)

Posted by Amelia Swhizzagers On 6:37 AM

Innervisions is an album by Stevie Wonder, released on Tamla/Motown on August 3, 1973 (see 1973 in music). It was the third of five consecutive albums widely hailed as his "classic period", along with Music of My Mind, Talking Book, Fulfillingness' First Finale, and Songs in the Key of Life. The nine tracks that make up Innervisions encompass a wide range of themes and issues: from drug references in "Too High" and "Don't You Worry 'bout a Thing"; social anger in "Higher Ground" and "Living for the City"; to love in the ballads "All in Love is Fair" and "Golden Lady." The album's closer, "He's Misstra Know-It-All", is a scathing attack on then-US President Richard Nixon, similar to his song "You Haven't Done Nothin'".

As with many of Stevie Wonder's albums the lyrics, composition and production are almost entirely his own work, with the synthesizer used prominently throughout the album. He also played all or virtually all instruments on "Too High", "Living for the City", "Don't You Worry 'bout a Thing", "Higher Ground", "Jesus Children of America", and "He's Misstra Know-It-All".

Innervisions won Grammy Awards for Album of the Year and Best Engineered Non-Classical Recording in 1974, while "Living for the City" won the Grammy for Best R&B Song. Innervisions has been considered by many fans, critics, and colleagues to be Stevie Wonder's magnum opus and one of the greatest albums in pop music history. In 2001, VH1 named it the 31st greatest album of all time. In 2003, the album was ranked number 23 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.
01. Too High (4:36)
02. Visions (5:23)
03. Living for the City (7:21)
04. Golden Lady (5:00)
05. Higher Ground (3:42)
06. Jesus Children of America (4:10)
07. All in Love Is Fair (3:41)
08. Don't You Worry 'Bout a Thing (4:44)

0 Response to 'Stevie Wonder - Innervisions (1973)'

Post a Comment